Eric Abidal the first person to be crowned 'Cule of the Year'

SPORT and Barça will honour the Cules of the Year at a gala on Thursday


Abidal, primer Culé del Año
Abidal, primer Culé del Año | JORDI RAMOS

The first-ever 'Cule of the Year' will be Eric Abidal, Barcelona's sporting director. The award goes to the Frenchman, who returned to the club last year after a brilliant six-year spell as a player at Camp Nou. 

David Salinas


Abidal played almost 200 games for the club (193) and scored two goals, one against Real Madrid at the Bernabeu in the Copa. In addition, he won 14 titles, one of which was very special: the Champions League in Rome. It was then, in May 2011, when Carles Puyol let him lift the trophy after the win against Manchester United. 

The Cule of the Year awards will have six winners in total. It's an initiative launched by SPORT in collaboration with FC Barcelona and sponsors CaixaBank. 

A gala will be held on Feb. 14 in the Auditori 1899 to honour the winners. 

The awards were born to be a reference for the Barça world, whic his full of different personalities and characters who deserve recognition, all of whom share the Barça DNA: teamwork, solidarity, respect, fair play, humility, ambition, generosity, competitive... 

Barcelona president Josep Maria Bartomeu and vice president Jordi Cardoner, along with SPORT's Ernest Folch and David Casanovas, will present the awards. 

As well as Abidal, the other winners are:

Socio CulE OF ThE YEAR
Joan Casals (Avi del Barça) 

Joan Casals, 'Avi del Barça', premio al 'Socio Culé del Año' | PEDRO CASTROVERDE


La Fundación Leo Messi, premio a la 'Solidaridad' | FC BARCELONA

Sor Lucía Caram 

Sor Lucía Caram, 'Premio Especial' | DAVID RAMÍREZ

InternaTional CULE AWARD
Nujeen Mustafá 

Nujeen Mustafá, premio 'Culé Internacional' | FC BARCELONA

Xavi Pascual 

Xavi Pascual, premio 'Trayectoria Culé' | IGNASI PAREDES


Descarga gratis la app en tu móvil